The George Washington Forum

About

Our Mission

Civic Education, Liberal Education, Intellectual Diversity

The George Washington Forum on American Ideas, Politics, and Institutions teaches America’s foundational principles in their Western intellectual, political, and institutional contexts. It is grounded on the idea that students facing an increasingly globalized world need to understand what characterizes and distinguishes the nation in which they live and the civilization from which it emerged. The Forum helps students become enlightened citizens in a liberal democracy whose roots run deep in Western civilization, but whose ideals and interests transcend the West.

The Washington Forum pursues its mission in at least three interconnected ways.

• It directs and encourages the efforts to teach Ohio University undergraduates the history of America and its location within the Western tradition.
• It encourages traditional scholarship on important themes in American and Western history through themed conferences, public lectures, and publications.
• It provides scholarship funding to Ohio University undergraduates interested in free societies and what makes them possible.

The Washington Forum is a participant in The Jack Miller Center-Veritas Fund for Higher Education Initiative. The Forum’s first year of operation was academic year 2009–10, and its future success depends on the generous support of foundations and private individuals who share its commitment to civic education and intellectual diversity. Thank you for your interest in the Forum, and we appreciate all who support our efforts.

Robert G. Ingram
Associate Professor of History
Director of the George Washington Forum

GWF Staff

Robert G. Ingram

ingramr@ohio.edu

Robert Ingram is an historian at Ohio University, where he teaches courses in early modern British and European religious, political, and intellectual history. Born and brought up in Ruston, Louisiana, he did his undergraduate work at The University of the South in Sewanee, Tennessee, and his doctoral work at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville, Virginia. Robert is the founding director of the George Washington Forum on American Ideas, Politics, and Institutions, a fellow of the Royal Historical Society and the President of the Southern Conference on British Studies.

Faculty Associates

Patrick Barr-Melej

Associate Professor // History

barr-mel@ohio.edu

John Brobst

Associate Professor // History

brobst@ohio.edu

Scott Carson

Associate Professor // Philosophy

carsond@ohio.edu

David Curp

Associate Professor // History

curp@ohio.edu

Jill P. Ingram

Associate Professor // English

ingramj@ohio.edu

Mark LeBar

Associate Professor // Philosophy

lebar@ohiou.edu

Paul C. Milazzo

Associate Professor // History

milazzo@ohio.edu

Steven Miner

Professor // History

miner@ohio.edu

Linda J. Rice

Associate Professor // English

RiceL2@ohio.edu

Brian Schoen

Associate Professor // History

schoen@ohio.edu

Ingo Trauschweizer

Associate Professor // History

trauschw@ohio.edu

Richard Vedder

Distinguished Professor // Economics

vedder@ohio.edu

Sponsors

The George Washington Forum would like to recognize and thank all of our generous sponsors, without which, none of this could be possible

The Apgar Foundation, Inc.

Visit Website

The Charles G. Koch Charitable Foundation

Visit Website

The Jack Miller Center for Teaching America’s Founding Principles and History

Visit Website

The Ohio University Foundation: 1804 Fund

Visit Website

The Thomas W. Smith Foundation

Visit Website